NWA GHOST CONNECTION

Old Arkansas Southern Hospital

HOME
ADOPT A GRAVE
MEET THE TEAM
NWAGC SERVICES
INVESTIGATIONS
NIGH FAMILY STORY OF ED THEODORE GEIN
WHAT'S NEW
RESEARCH
PENDING/UPCOMING INVESTIGATIONS
OTHER TOPICS
HAUNTINGS CHART
PARANORMAL DEFINITIONS
GEAR
OUIJA BOARD
Donate
CONTACT US

dsc00407.jpg

History; The Old Arkansas Hospital was the relocation center for all white Arkansans with tuberculosis. By the time the facility was closed in 1973, it had treated over 70,000 patients. The main hospital, named the Nyberg Building after Leo E. Nyberg, a former hospital patient and state legislator who sponsored the bill funding the construction, was completed in 1941. The facility became known worldwide as one of the most successful and modern hospitals for the treatment of tuberculosis of its day. The hospital complex was self-sustaining, with dormitories, staff entertainment buildings, a chapel, laundry, dairy, water treatment plant, independent telephone system, and even a fire department. At the height of its use, the complex employed nearly 300 staff members. At one point, the total population of the center was greater than that of the cities, in the valley below. With the introduction of more effective drug therapy, the patient population began to decline. Eventually the hospital was closed in 1973. The campus was then used as a state-run residential program for adults with mild and moderate mental retardation and other developmental disabilities which is what it remains today

Investigation Results

Enter content here

Enter content here

Enter content here

Enter content here

Enter supporting content here