In the year of 1873, a man by the
name of Samuel F. Lee constructed the structure in order to provide himself and the members of his family with a place to
live. By the year of 1913, the Lee family had moved out of the structure and the county turned it into a home for those that
were elderly and required special care and supervision. At this time, many locals referred to it as the “County Poor
House”. It was not long before the residents of the county recognized the structure as an appropriate location for a
hospital The new hospital that opened in the area in the year of 1953 was a structure that was built for what is referred
to as the “Tooele Army Depot”. Minor adjustments were made to the building in order to ensure that medical care
could be provided to patients that visited it for care. This hospital was found to be a bit more attractive to the residents
as the Old Tooele Hospital had no individual restrooms, but rather community restrooms that were limited to one on each hallway.
In addition to this, there was no special location identified as a “morgue” for patients that passed away in the
structure, though there was one room designated for the dead. The local mortuary would pick up the bodies as time permitted
from this location. When visiting the Old Tooele Hospital , you will notice that the Tooele County Cemetery is seated beside
the structure The Old Tooele Hospital has been the site of many acclaimed hauntings and various types of paranormal activity.